Kate Walsh

Kate Walsh Biography:


Date of Birth: October 13, 1967

Born in San Jose, California and raised both there and in Tucson, Arizona, Kate Walsh began her career in Chicago, studying at the renowned Piven Theatre Workshop. She then starred in theatrical productions of the critically acclaimed Born Guilty, Moon Under Miami and Troilus and Cressida at the Shakespeare Repertory.

In Chicago, Kate was cast in her first two independent films, Normal Life, directed by John McNaughton, and Henry, Portrait of a Serial Killer II.

Kate's career quickly took off when she moved to New York for comedy and improvisation training. She landed series regular roles on The Mike O'Malley Show (ABC), Mind of a Married Man (HBO) and The Drew Carey Show (ABC). In 2005, Walsh landed the role of Dr. Addison Montgomery-Shepard in ABC's critically acclaimed drama, Grey's Anatomy. During Kate's two seasons on the show, the cast received the 2007 Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series. Due to the overwhelming positive response of Kate's tough yet sympathetic character, in 2007 ABC spun off Addison to star in Private Practice, which became a success as well, receiving high ratings.

Along the way, Kate has also taken time to appear on the big screen in motion pictures such as The Family Man (2000), Under the Tuscan Sun (2003), Kicking & Screaming (2005), Bewitched (2005) and The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012).

Her most recent credits include roles on films such as Scary Movie 5 (2013), Girls Trip (2017), Mark Felt: The Man Who Brought Down the White House (2017) as well as Netflix series such as 13 Reasons Why, #RealityHigh and the new hit series The Umbrella Academy, which debuted in February 2019.

Kate married producer Alex Young in 2007, but filed for divorce after 15 months of marriage. She lives with her dogs and cats in Los Angeles.


13 Reasons Why (Netflix) (2017)
Girls Trip (2017)
Mark Felt: The Man Who Brought Down the White House (2017)
#RealityHigh (Netflix) (2017)
Just Before I Go (2015)
Staten Island Summer (2015)
Scary Movie 5 (2013)
The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012)
Angels Crest (2012)
Legion (2009)
1408 (2007)
Veritas, Prince of Truth (2007)
Bewitched (2005)
Inside Out (2005)
Kicking & Screaming (2005)
After the Sunset (2004)
Under the Tuscan Sun (2003)
The Family Man (2000)
Heaven (1998)
Three Below Zero (1998)
Night of the Lawyers (1997)
Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer, Part 2 (1996)
Normal Life (1996)

Change Location