Anjelica Huston

Anjelica Huston Biography:


Date of Birth: July 8, 1951

She was born in L.A., the middle child of director John Huston and his wife Ricki Soma, a model and ballet dancer. When her parents met, there were 22 years between them, John being 44 and Ricki 22.

The family moved to Ireland, and Anjelica grew up in Galway, where the family had an unusual house—it had heating. When she was 11, her parents split up and she moved to London, England with her mother. It was while living in London as a teenager that she began modeling for Vogue. She lost her mother shortly after in a car accident, a signal event that would have repercussions for the rest of her life.

Huston moved to Los Angeles in the 1970s and fell madly in love with Jack Nicolson. But while he was rising to super stardom, Anjelica garnered only a handful of good roles.

In 1985, with Prizzi's Honor, she finally made her mark, earning an Oscar for Best Supporting Actress. In fact, she was the "best supported actress," since her father directed and Jack acted alongside her.

Two years later, John Huston passed away and shortly after that, Jack fathered a child by another woman, ending their relationship. About Jack's philandering ways she has said, "Men are more prone to, how shall I say, spread themselves around." She married Robert Graham, a renowned sculptor, in 1992 and they have 11 cats at their home in Venice, California.

In 1998, she won a Supporting Actress Blockbuster Entertainment Award for her role as Drew Barrymore's evil stepmother in the hit film Ever After (1998), and in 2003, Huston won a DVD Premiere Award for Best Animated Character Performance in Barbie as Rapunzel (2002), for her role as the evil witch. In 2005, after receiving her eighth Golden Globe nomination, Huston finally took home the coveted prize for her work in the TV production Iron Jawed Angels (2004).


When in Rome (2010)
The Fantastic Mr. Fox (2009)
Spirit of the Forest (2008)
The Kreutzer Sonata (2008)
Choke (2008)
Martian Child (2007)
The Darjeeling Limited (2007)
Seraphim Falls (2006)
Material Girls (2006)
These Foolish Things (2005)
Art School Confidential (2005)
The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (2004)
Daddy Day Care (2003)
Barbie as Rapunzel (2002) (V)
Axis (2002)
Blood Work (2002)
Searching for Debra Winger (2002)
The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)
The Man from Elysian Fields (2001)
The Golden Bowl (2000)
Agnes Browne (1999)
Ever After (1998)
Buffalo '66 (1998)
Bastard Out of Carolina (1996)
The Crossing Guard (1995)
The Perez Family (1995)
Addams Family Values (1993)
Manhattan Murder Mystery (1993)
Rabbit Ears (1992)
The Player (1992)
The Addams Family (1991)
The Grifters (1990)
The Witches (1990)
Crimes and Misdemeanors (1989)
Enemies: a Love Story (1989)
A Handful of Dust (1988)
Mr. North (1988)
The Dead (1987)
Gardens of Stone (1987)
Captain Eo (1986)
Good To Go (1986)
Prizzi's Honor (1985)
The Ice Pirates (1984)
This is Spinal Tap (1984)
Frances (1982)
The Postman Always Rings Twice (1981)
The Last Tycoon (1976)
Swashbuckler (1976)
Sinful Davey (1969)
Walk With Love and Death (1969)

Change Location