Melanie Griffith

Melanie Griffith Biography:


Born: August 9, 1957

Born in NY, NY to Tippi Hedren (of Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds), this tall, baby-voiced nymphet made her first impression in Night Moves at 18, and went on to make major waves in Body Double (1984) and Something Wild (1986). In 1988, she displayed an Oscar-caliber performance in Working Girl, and soon after checked herself into the Hazelden Clinic for detox. At the same time, she renewed another addiction: re-marrying the detoxified Don Johnson (who she married when she was 18 and divorced when she was 19) in 1989. Things between Griffith and Johnson didn't improve: they fought in public, announced a separation, changed their minds, changed their minds again, and got divorced, reconciled again, and separated once and for all.

Griffith married Spanish heartthrob Antonio Banderas in May 1996, and the couple welcomed their first child, a daughter named Stella del Carmen, the following September. Their other co-production, the 1996 romantic comedy Two Much, was a box-office flop.

Now that her home life has stabilized, Griffith has been something of a scarcity on the big screen. In recent years, she has logged only a handful of appearances: Mulholland Falls, Celebrity and Another Day in Paradise. In 1999, Griffith delivered a charming and effective performance in her hubby's ambitious directorial debut film, Crazy in Alabama, the '60s-era tale of a spirited Southern bombshell who makes a cross-country pilgrimmage to pursue her dreams of becoming a Hollywood starlet.


The Night We Called It a Day (2003)
Shade (2003)
Tempo (2002)
Stuart Little 2 (2002) (voice)
Searching for Debra Winger (2002)
Tart (2000)
Life with Big Cats (2000)
Forever Lulu (2000)
Cecil B. Demented (2000)
Crazy in Alabama (1999)
Another Day in Paradise (1998)
Celebrity (1998)
Shadow of Doubt (1998)
Lolita (1997)
Mulholland Falls (1996)
Two Much (1996)
Now and Then (1995)
Buffalo Girls (1994)
Milk Money (1994)
Nobody's Fool (1994)
Born Yesterday (1993)
Shining Through (1992)
A Stranger Among Us (1992)
Paradise (1991)
Bonfire of the Vanities (1990)
In the Spirit (1990)
Pacific Heights (1990)
Women and Men - Stories of Seduction (1990)
Cherry 2000 (1988)
Stormy Monday (1988)
Working Girl (1988)
Something Wild (1986)
Body Double (1984)
Fear City (1984)
She's in the Army Now (1981)
Underground Aces (1980)
Steel Cowboy (1978)
Joyride (1977)
One on One (1976)
The Drowning Pool (1975)
Night Moves (1975)
Smile (1975)

Change Location